Baseball Origins

Baseball like cricket in the UK plays throughout the summer months some of the world's most famous teams battling it out to win their respective leagues/pennants and the world series there are some great betting opportunities and they have got them all covered. want to know more about this sport try this short history. Want the latest news visit this site. Baseball hall of Fame.

Baseball the origins
Developed from the British game of rounders which was played by colonist in North America on town meeting days.  Reference to Baseball has been found in documents and newspapers in America from as early as 1791.

The first recorded organized game was between the Knickerbockers and the New York Nine played at Hoboken, New Jersey on 19 June 1846 under rules drawn up by Alexander Cartwright.  The distance from the pitchers mound and home plate was fixed at 60ft 6in in 1893.  Each side consist of 9 players who bat and field but the players can be replaced by substitutes from a squad of 25.  Baseball is split into two distinct leagues the American League and the National League, although they both play the same game there are some minor differences for instance under National League Rules all 9 players who field also bat under American League rules the pitcher is not required to bat and they have a designated hitter who bats but doesn't field.

World Cup started in 1938 currently held every two years the first winners were Great Britain

In North America, professional Major League Baseball (MLB) teams are divided into the National League (NL) and American League (AL), each league has three divisions: Central, East, and West. The major league champion is determined by playoffs that culminate in the World Series

Click Here to Visit Willhill

Teams Making up the American League

The American League of Professional Baseball Clubs, is normally refered to a The American League. It is one of two leagues that make up Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. It evolved from the Western League, which was a minor league based in the Great Lakes states. It is often called the Junior Circuit because it claimed Major League status for the 1901 season, 25 years after the formation of the National League (the "Senior Circuit").

At the end of every season, the American League champion plays in the World Series against the National League champion. Through 2013, American League teams have won 63 of the 110 World Series played since 1903, with 27 of those coming from the New York Yankees alone.

The American League is split into Three Divisions Central, West and East. Central Division consist of the following teams:

American League Central
Chicago White Sox
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers
Kansas City Royals
Minnesota Twins

American League West
Houston Astros
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Oakland Athletics
Seattle Mariners
Texas Rangers

American League East
Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox
New York Yankees
Tampa Bay Rays
Toronto Blue Jays

National League

The National League of Professional Baseball Clubs, normally refered to as the National League (NL), is the older of two leagues constituting Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. Founded on February 2, 1876, to replace the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players, it is known as the Senior Circuit, The league currently consists of 15 teams.

National League East
Atlanta Braves, the oldest continually operating team in Major League Baseball
Miami Marlins
New York Mets
Philadelphia Phillies
Washington Nationals

National League Central
Chicago Cubs
Cincinnati Reds
Milwaukee Brewers
Pittsburgh Pirates
St. Louis Cardinals

National League West
Arizona Diamondbacks
Colorado Rockies
Los Angeles Dodgers
San Diego Padres
San Francisco Giants