The Scottish Premiership

Not just about the old firm

Scottish Football

So many people believe Scottish football is about the Old Firm - Rangers and Celtic. It is true this pair have dominated football North of the Border but you'd be a fool if you ignore the other teams in the scottish premiership.

Scottish Football is slightly different than the other European leagues, home advantage tends to go out of the window in Scotland while the bookies still tend to favour the home side, historical data tells a different story.

Some other pointers about the Scottish Premiership.

  • League split after 33 matches and teams stay within top six or bottom six regardless of points won.
  • Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw.
  • The bottom club will be relegated to Scottish Division One.
  • If the top club in Division One fails to meet the ground criteria there will be no relegation from the Premier League.
  • Teams finishing level on points are separated by goal difference.
  • If goal difference is identical then the team scoring most goals finish higher. In the event of goal difference and goals scored being identical, a play-off may be held necessary.

The Team that wins the Scottish Premiership automatically qualifies for the Champions League whilst the second place team goes onto the Qualifying rounds 3rd and 4th place teams go into the Europa League with the 12th team being relegated

Soccer an history of the Beautiful game read it here

What About the Glasgow Giants?

The football world was shocked this year when Glasgow Rangers went bust the resultant points deduction cost them the title but at least they have recovered with a new buyer and a slightly new name in Rangers NEWCO however the SFA punished them and they had been relegated to the SFA Div 3 which meant a long hard haul to return to the premiership.

Scottish Cup's
Once again these competitions are dominated by the Old Firm.

Scottish Teams

  • Scots Prem
  • Aberdeen
  • Celtic
  • Dundee
  • Hamilton
  • Hearts
  • Hibernian
  • Kilmarnock
  • Livingston
  • Motherwell
  • Rangers
  • Ross County
  • St Johnstone
  • St Mirren