Spain's La Liga

Real Madrid, Barca, Athletico Madrid

La Liga

La Liga is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest placed teams being relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams in that division plus the winner of a play-off. Since the 1950s, Real Madrid and Barcelona have dominated the championship. Real Madrid have won the title a record 32 times and Barcelona 23 times.

According to UEFA's Stats La Liga has been the strongest league in Europe for the past five years and it has been the top league in Europe for more combined years than any other European league (16 years).

La Liga clubs have won the most UEFA Champions League tournaments (15) and Real Madrid are the competition's most successful club, with 10 titles. Sevilla are the most successful club in the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League, with 4 titles.

La Liga-based players have won the highest number of FIFA World Player of the Year awards (11), Ballon d'Or awards (18) and UEFA Best Player in Europe awards (3).

Top Teams - Top Players

The competition format follows the usual double round-robin format. During the course of a season, which lasts from September to June, each club plays every other club twice, once at home and once away, for a total of 38 games. Teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points, with the highest-ranked club at the end of the season crowned champion.

Top Spanish Players

Telmo Zarra
Alfredo di Stéfano
César Rodríguez
Edmundo Suárez